Who We Are

CUPE Local 3904 represents over 2,500 contract academics at Ryerson University, including members of all three units who are as follows: Unit 1 Contract Lecturers, Unit 2 Continuing Education Contract Lecturers and Unit 3 Graduate and Teaching Assistants.

CUPE Local 3904 works to protect and improve the working conditions of all of its members through collective bargaining, mediation, joint consultation, conciliation, and, if and when necessary, strike action.

Collective agreements often provide union members with greater worker rights and protections than in non-unionized work environments. In light of the insecure and precarious nature of contingent work that contract academics at Ryerson University and other universities face today, CUPE Local 3904 believes in the value and strength of a unified labour force as the basis for fighting to protect and try to improve the working lives of all of its members.

To ensure the safety and improve the working conditions of all of its members, the union is committed to fighting for the elimination of harassment and discrimination of any sort or on any basis, and promoting the equal treatment of all its members regardless of class, race, colour, nationality, age, sex, gender, language, sexual orientation, place of origin, ancestry, religious beliefs, or disability.

CUPE Local 3904 also operates as a lobbying agent on behalf of its members to all appropriate outside agencies which are responsible for, or which have an interest in, post-secondary education issues in the province of Ontario.

  • Joseph Zboralski
    Joseph ZboralskiPresident

    Email:  jzboralski@politics.ryerson.ca

    • Kelly Train
      Kelly TrainUnit 1 Chief Steward

      Email:  ktrain@ryerson.ca

      • Mary Green
        Mary GreenVP Campaigns

        Email:  mary.green@ryerson.ca

        • Richard Deklerk
          Richard DeklerkTreasurer

          Email:  richard.deklerk@ryerson.ca

          • Rob Bajko
            Rob BajkoVP Communications

            Email:  rbajko@ryerson.ca

            • Amir Kiumarsi
              Amir KiumarsiUnit 2 Chief Steward

              Email:  akiumarsi@ryerson.ca

              • Aneesa Khan
                Aneesa KhanUnit 3 Chief Steward

                Email:  a8khan@ryerson.ca